The Wednesday Post (26/05/2010)

Science scouts

I never joined the scouts as a kid. I don’t think my mother beleived in me being outside. I mean I can see her point: there’s all that weather and crap out there, no fluorescent lighting, and all sorts of ridiculous things. Look at me now, sheltered scientist who had never been to a bonfire before last week, never roasted marshmallows on open coals before last week, pale as a bowl of milk; the very epitome of success. Anyway, The Science Creative Quarterly has given me a chance to experience what more sociable kids had done before me.

These guys have created The Order of the Science Scouts of Exemplary Repute and Above Average Physique “(O.O.T.S.S.O.E.R.A.A.A.P., or Science Scouts to those in the know)”. They have their own badges!

E.g. The following is relevant to both me and James for our germy work: The “what I do for science dictates my having to wash my hands before I use the toilet” badge.

Fantastic! I demand it! More at badges at http://www.scq.ubc.ca/sciencescouts/

-TT

1 Comment

Filed under Thomas' Corner

One response to “The Wednesday Post (26/05/2010)

  1. ash

    “…pale as a bowl of milk”
    Really, Thomas?
    I have never had a bowl of milk that was your colour, and I hope I never will.

    PS keep out of my milk.

Leave a Reply

