The serenity of a lab

On new year’s day, I entered the lab having just been on a holiday at a beach shack. Fully refreshed and in an absolutely silent lab, I felt at peace. I needed to set up an experiment and the exciting potentiality of its results reflected the potentiality of a new year for me (hopefully the one in which I will be submitting my thesis).

Like a tea ceremony, I filled tubes with familiar reagents, each with their own personality in my mind. It didn’t matter if the results were what I wanted or not; the performance of the experiment was the most important thing at that particular time. I took a photo to represent what I was feeling at the time.

Lab-time serenity (Photo by Thomas Tu)

Anyway, happy new year! Hope it’s less crap than the last one.

TT

13 Comments

Filed under Thomas' Corner

13 responses to “The serenity of a lab

  1. Mim

    I’m a bit sad the glasses don’t fit into the banner. I like how they look in black and white. The full-size photo does look strangely tea-ceremony-esque.

  2. Is potentiality really a word? How is it different to plain old potential?

  3. Commander Espresso

    Such a beautiful post; such a depressing ending.

  4. James Mk 2

    Feeling a bit OCD at the time? Also, can I be James Mk I now that other scoundrel has run off?

  5. Xien_Rue

    Happy new year too! I start this year rather badly, namely stomach upset. Until now, I still feel nausea. A crap start indeed – _-
    I hope you enjoy your lab work. I am myself dreading the day when I should start my thesis experiment. This stomach really dampens my mood lately …

  6. Pingback: Wherein awesome things happen | Disease of the Week!

Leave a Reply

